Photo Hike – Waterfalls in Niagara Country

 So, today I am going hiking with a meet up group I join recently called “The Toronto Weekend Adventurers”. If you read my 2011 goals, one of my personal goals is to go hiking at least three times this year. I join this group because it’s flexible, get to meet new people, and able to get some exercise, so I am looking forward to it, hopefully the weather corporate.

 The Toronto Weekend Adventurers group

This is a group that provides quality events from beginner to advanced level in hiking, camping, canoeing, kayaking, biking, and etc. All ages are welcome. There’s a $5 membership fee annually which I think isn’t bad at all since I don’t have to organize the event and I can participate according to my flexibility.

 So, isn’t it weird going hiking with a group of strangers that you never meet before?

 I personally love meeting new people especially if we share similar interest such as hiking. I have seen this group organize many successful outdoor events and this group is very reliable and committed.  I think having something in common make the process of meeting new people a lot easier because people can share their interests and at the same time get to know each other.

 What are the chances of you actually making a good friend?

I look at this event as a way for me to enjoy an activity that I like with other people who share similar interest. I am not expecting to meet my soul mate or best friend; I just want to have a good time with good people. At the end of the day, the most important thing is that everyone have a good time, if I do meet someone interesting and want to keep in touch, I don’t see why not, but if I don that ok too because I have a good time and that all it matter.

 Budget for this Event

Surprisingly, this event is very cost-effective for me. Since it my first time attending an event with this group, I am paying the annual $5 membership since if you not a member you have to pay $2 each time you attend. Also, to get to our hiking destinations we are carpooling, so I am expecting to chip in for gas for the driver. I am estimating each person will pay at least $ 5 dollar each for gas.

 Event budget recap:

 Annual Membership Fee: $5.00

Gas: Approximately $5.00

Dinner after hiking: Optional, not sure if I will participate.

 Total cost for this event: $10

 Hiking Trip Details

 It’s springtime! Let’s shoot some of the Niagara Escarpment’s greatest formations, the waterfalls.

We will drive to 3 locations and visit the waterfalls in Niagara County. We will take a variety of photos as we hike at a leisurely pace. We will take breaks to capture the creeks and the majestic views of waterfalls, including DeCew, Terrace, Swayze and Rockway Falls. We will have lunch at one of the waterfalls.

So get your camera out and shoot away with us!

Difficulty: Intermediate. You should be comfortable to scamper across rocks and boulders (we will assist each other when needed). You should also be comfortable with your camera.

Length: 10 km

Total Time: 8 hours depending on overall group pace, conditions and traffic.

The description of the hike look fun and adventurous, I never been to any of the places mention in the description and I am really looking forward to it. For $10, I think it totally worth it. It good for my health and I get to explore places I never been to. This is going to be a great trip and I will let you know how it goes.

 I hope everyone’s having a good Saturday!



About besmartwithyourmoney

Hello, my name is Victor. I started this blog so I can share my stories of how I achieve financial independence. I hope my blog can motivates people who are in debt to achieve financial independence and live a better lifestyle.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Social Life. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Photo Hike – Waterfalls in Niagara Country

  1. Pingback: REVIEW OF 2011 GOALS |

Leave a comment